Nicolaus Dulworth, born in 1994 in Houston, Texas, has engineered over 200 classical concerts including performances by the Emerson String Quartet, Jeremy Denk, Dawn Upshaw, Zuill Bailey, the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra with conductor Stefan Asbury, the Peabody Symphony Orchestra with conductors Marin Alsop and Leon Fleisher, the Peabody Wind Ensemble featuring David Smooke and flutist Marina Piccinini, and the Peabody Modern Orchestra under the baton of Harlan Parker.

Nick is a composer of classical, electro-acoustic, film, and alternative music. Recent projects include collaborations with filmmakers, Ana J. Kim (Bertie and Camera), Sarah Bushin (How to Avoid People), and Brandon Ward. In March 2015, His piece Recede (flute with live electronics and electric guitar) took 3rd Prize in the Prix d’Été XX composition competition at the Peabody Institute. Other concert works include a piece for percussion trio and fixed media, a trio for saxophone, violin, and electric guitar, two ballets for chamber ensemble, a piece for piano trio and trombone, and various acoustic solos and chamber works for piano, trombone, violin, and cello.

Nick will complete his MA in Acoustics and BA in Recording Arts in May of 2017 at the Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. He holds a degree in music composition from Peabody. His primary composition teacher is Oscar Bettison. Previous teachers include composers Michael Remson and Aaron Alon, and pianist Clive Swansbourne. He has been in a master-class with Christopher Rouse and has taken lessons with Karim Al-Zand, Sarah Kirkland Snider, Dmitri Tymoczko, Pierre Jalbert, Rob Smith, Marcus Maroney, Steven Yip, Richard Ford, Ann Witherspoon, and Mark Buller.

Nick is a mentor for the high school and middle school robotics team The DiscoBots. He is a founding member of oRyon Labs, an organization hosted by the Rice Robotics Club at Rice University. When he is not composing, Nick enjoys spending time in the outdoors with his family.

Friends + Mentors

Oscar Bettison
Scott Metcalfe
Michael Remson
Aaron Alon
Clive Swansbourne
Peter Dulworth
Andrew Lynch
Ana J. Kim
Sarah Bushin
oRyon Labs
Alan Choo